top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Day

Getting Paid for Your Work

For most of the time I have been taking concert photos, I’ve done it for free. I’ve found that as a beginner photographer the most valuable currency is not money as much as it is connections and social media circulation. Every morning after a show I choose and edit my best photos and then send them out through a string of emails to the bands that performed, the venue where it was hosted and to the music blog I work for, Lvl to the Room, so that it they can be shared as much as possible. It was then a great surprise when my hard work had payed off, and a band sent word one day that they wanted to pay me to cover their show.


The Supervillians perform at High Dive on Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018.


I had gotten to know the owner of one of the local Gainesville concert venues, High Dive, and he recommended me to The Supervillians, the band that was going to be headlining High Dive that evening. I quickly packed up my gear and headed over to the venue. Once there, I was told where to meet the band because they wanted press photos in addition to concert photos I was used to shooting. This was the point where I learned how important it is to think on your feet as a photographer and be ready for any situation. Most press photos are taken with lightning equipment or outside in order to get the best exposure and light for the band. Instead, I was told they needed the photos done in about 20 minutes, and we were in the parking lot of the venue in the dark at around 9 p.m. After testing the lighting at a few places around the venue, I asked if we could shoot inside, and we were taken up to the owner of the venue’s office. Then using multiple lamps, and more than a healthy dose of luck, I was able to get a decently lit wall for the band to stand around. I then took a quick sequence of shots from a variety of angles and heights to cover my bases and get something both I and the band would be happy with.


The Supervillians pose for their press photo.


The Supervillians perform at High Dive on Friday, Aug. 10, 2018.


After thanking them for their cooperation and politely declining an offer to hit the bong they had in the R.V., I went back inside and waited to cover their set. It was an experience I will never forget and gave me a great appreciation for the level of preparation that goes into a photo shoot and the need to think on one’s toes when presented with a situation that is not ideal for shooting. If a photo goes badly, it always reflects badly on the photographer and not the subject, so it is therefore incredibly important to always come prepared and be ready for any possible set-backs so that you look professional and worth the money the client is spending on your photos.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page