top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Day

A Concert Photo Story

One of the best experiences I have had as a photographer was creating a photo story on the lead singer of the band Flipturn. At most of the concerts I had photographer in the past, I was solo photographer in the crowd that only interacted with the band when I sent them the best photos by email the following day in hopes that they would post them on their social media. However, with this project I got to really know Dillon, the singer of the band, and spend time with him both on-stage and off in an effort to create photos that paint a picture of him as a person. The project was a part of my Advanced Photojournalism class and was taught by one of the best professors I’ve had, Daron Dean. Daron had pushed me to find a photo subject that would result in dynamic photos that would show the human side of the performer and his or her passion for music. I immediately thought of Dillon.


I had shot photos of Flipturn earlier in the year, and I knew that he was an amazing performer that came alive when he was on stage.


Dillon Basse performs with his band Flipturn at The Wooly on Friday, August 31, 2018.

Over the course of a about a month, I met up with Dillon at various times to capture his life as both a student at the University of Florida and as a musician and lead singer. He was incredibly welcoming and allowed me into his day-to-day life. I photographed early-morning coffee runs, candid moments with friends and time spent around campus as well as thrilling on-stage antics and band practices. I felt the project needed an even balance of both musician and student to give a viewer the opportunity to see Dillon’s personality through the photos. I was also granted many great opportunities to go backstage with the band and take photos that show the interactions of a group that seem far closer to a family than a band. I was able to sneak back stage at a few shows and capture a view that normally only those on the stage have the chance to enjoy. I’m incredibly proud of how the project came out and it served as a learning experience for me as a photographer. Finding someone so welcoming as a subject gave me great access to show detailed parts of a person’s life that allow viewers to relate to the subject on a deeply human level. This time spent with Dillon only reinforced my desire to be a photojournalist and further tell people’s stories.



Dillon Basse takes a moment to look at his phone while doing a soundcheck with his band at Heartwood Soundstage Friday, Nov. 30, 2018.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page